In my first post (https://shiftp.wordpress.com/2015/08/31/and-away-we-go/), I rattled off a series of things that interest me.  Nestled between Writing and Microcontrollers was this seemingly out of place category, “Intellectual Thought.”  But if I told you that I earned my BA in Philosophy, then it probably wouldn’t be so out of the ordinary to think that I might like to pursue more lofty interests from time to time.  But I’m not really interested in figuring out whether Schrodinger’s Cat is alive or dead (Who cares…just open the box and find out already!!), or how many angels can fit on the head of a pin (Trick question, angels are non-corporeal and so putting them on a physical object is moot).

In reality, I am more interested in HOW people think and how the process has changed (if it actually has) over the course of History.  At one time, I was actually studying the Development of Intellectual Thought from 600-1000AD.  Education can give a subtle hint as to how various cultures wish to shape their children, but it has its limits so long as the culture of the time isn’t undergoing dramatic shifts.  There is a lot that can be said about any age, including the one we are living in, but I would rather not get into these kinds of discussions.  Rather, I would like to discuss, from time to time, some thoughts about the Intellectual Life.  You will notice at the bottom of my website is a list of books that I am currently reading.  One of these is entitled, “The Intellectual Life”.  I happened on it while doing some extra searching about the work, “Leisure: The Basis of Culture” by Josef Pieper (A highly recommended book) in which Fr. James Schall did a commentary on it, and he happened to be doing the foreword for a revised classic, “The Intellectual Life” by A.G. Sartillanges, who wrote the book back in 30’s/40’s.  I started this book a week or so ago, and am still on page 19, having to digest it in such small pieces because of the density of the subject matter, as well as how practical it is for almost anyone.  I will go on a bit further on this topic in future posts, but I just wanted to give you an idea of the kinds of things that I like to discuss and share.

I have a few more topics that I will talk about in the near future, so I hope that you come back soon and check them out.

As always, feel free to make comments below.

See you soon!

