Books.

Probably the single-greatest number of anything that I own.  A source of consternation for so many years, for me, but it wasn’t long before they became my obsession.  I cataloged them all a few years ago, but that only included the ones that I had with me in Canada.  I had several floor-to-ceiling shelves full of books at my parents’ place in the U.S., that I swore I would eventually have shipped up.  Good thing I didn’t. Those suckers are costly to move.  And did I mention that I actually got rid of several boxes to the local library in Edmonton?  But a lot of them you cannot replace anymore, so I didn’t have a choice.

When I was young, I wasn’t the smartest knife in the drawer, but somewhere along the line I developed a passion for reading and books.  Somewhere along the line, I simply wanted to devour any and all knowledge about various topics.  I think more than anything, I wanted to understand how things came to be.

And then when I was in College, I was reading so many books with heavy subject material that I felt like I wanted to read something more fun.  And this led to my love of the Science Fiction and Fantasy genres.  When I was in 7th grade, I remembered my brother reading a series of books titled, “The Chronicles of Thomas Covenant, the Unbeliever”.  I remember borrowing one of the books and taking it with me to school, which at that time was a military boarding school. It was pretty far past my reading level, but I still remember various scenes from the book that stuck with me.  So when I got older, I remembered that kind of book and decided to pick up a few books.  I think it started with Dennis L. McKiernan’s duology and trilogy, went to the entire (at that time) 6 volume series by Stephen R. Donaldson series, and then picked up the granddaddy of them all.  J.R.R. Tolkien’s “The Lord of the Rings”.  I remember picking it up from the bookstore in a hardbound one-volume book and just salivating over the art work, the fact that there was a ribbon placeholder, and then the story itself was amazing.  I started picking up hardbound books of classic literature from the Everyman Library with their similar style of binding that I figured would look amazing on a bookshelf.  I, still, to this day prefer a hardcover over a paperback.  Even though I have a Kindle Voyager, I have no problems with picking up my initial copies of books that are new, in their original hardcover editions.

Nowadays, my office at home has seven bookshelves hanging from the ceiling and another large built-in bookshelf in a nearby room we have labeled, “The Library”.  I still haven’t gotten around to shelving all the books I own.  I have at least 4 boxes of books just sitting in my office as well as a few others out in the Library.  When we get around to finish decorating the Library, we will shelve all the books and I will spend many happy hours there, lost in the worlds of my favorite author, Brandon Sanderson.  I will spend a future post geeking out on Brandon Sanderson, so I won’t waste it all in this post.  Suffice it to say that if you haven’t picked up any of his books, you should start with either The Mistborn Trilogy or The Way of Kings.  Be very careful.  He writes Epic Fantasy and that isn’t just about the scope of the novels, but also in the fact that a great number of his books are VERY long.  We’re talking over 1000 hardcover pages in some cases.  Massive tomes of amazing writing.

In addition to Science Fiction and Fantasy, I also read a lot of books on Religion, Philosophy, Early Medieval History, Cooking, and Writing.

So you’ll be seeing more than a few posts, in the future, about my reading habits and favorite books that I have read.

See you soon!!!!

