In the picture above is one of the new things I get to do probably for the foreseeable future.

Because I work primarily from a desk sitting position and due to the condition of my military neck, I get to realign my neck and spinal column for 10-15 minutes a day.  But it could be worse, so I diligently get on the floor twice a day so that I can enjoy the comforts of a good night’s sleep which has avoided my grasp for several years prior.

The funny part is that I thought for the longest time that I had a recurring sinus problem.  But with the flexeril and the foam roller, I have had better ability to breathe as well as no pain in the sinuses.  Hard to imagine that the pain from my neck was reaching over the top of my head and pulling up on the muscles in my cheeks.

One of the other thins that I am doing is raising the height of my monitors up a good 6-8 inches, so that I can sit up a little better and not have a massive kink in my neck, while still being able to look at a monitor comfortably.  Just one of the little things that I do to alleviate any extra pain.

As for my writing, I am continuing to work on the overall Story Arc, as well as the Character Arcs for at least 5 of the more important characters.  So I feel pretty good about it, so far.  I’m trying to get the overall themes and treatments down for the story, so that I can zero in on how the story will transpire.  I want it to be computer-heavy without being cyberpunk.  I’m also trying to make it my homage to Frank Herbert’s Dune series.  Less about the rise of a new emperor and more about the philosophical overtones of the series.  Essentially, the search for “Freedom” in a land of tyranny, but in an alternate timeline of our history.  There’s a fair bit of making sure that my ideas work with the alternate timeline, as well as not breaking the suspension of disbelief for the reader.  I want it to work in the best way I can make it and see where it goes from there.  Once I have the themes, conflicts, and treatments all parsed out, I want to finish up my “Sand People” story and get it out for edits.  I know it’s going to suck, but that’s the point of the editor…to make it hopefully not suck.  That’s why they get paid the big bucks…hehe.  Sorry MJ.

My goals in life are fairly straightforward.  Keep on writing, hope my golf game gets better as I go, and never stop wanting to learn new things and get better at the things that aren’t as new.

That’s pretty much it for now.  I hope to eventually have some of my writing on here so you all can read it and let me know what you liked or disliked about it.  I might put up some of my thematic pieces for various stories.  Freewriting jaunts that help me to understand where I want to take the story or a certain character, going forward.

See you soon!!

