Wanted to keep everyone updated on how things are going with me and my writing.  So far so good, here.  Had to deal with some post-holiday drama which inevitably rears its head, but I have dealt with that and am back on track.

I was in the midst of dealing with said drama, when I decided to just punch it in the gut and purge it.  Coincidentally this was about the same time I listened to one of my favorite podcasts, Writing Excuses (www.writingexcuses.com), and the episode was entitled, “Newton’s Laws of Writing”, which had a great idea given by Mary Robinette Kowal about setting smaller word count goals, when things are not going as well as you would like them to.  So I took her advice and started small, but ended up with several days of 1000+ word count days, which is great.  I also had to reassert myself as a writer, which is to say I had to listen to (and am still listening to) this short video bit by Neil Gaiman, when he was on the Nerdist Podcast.

 

I absolutely love this little bit.  It reminds me why I chose writing as a career/life.  I will listen to it, sometimes, 3 to 4 times a day just to keep myself on the straight and narrow.  It’s a gem of a video (or mp3 if you want to convert it to that format).

I am also not shying away from pre-planning more of Storehouse of Memory.  I am doing some scene work with it to see how the various characters will want to work with each other.  I also have a couple story ideas for future stories that I am really excited about.  But first things first, I need to finish off Sand People and get it to editing.  So that’s where my general focus is, at this point.  With the current pace, I am hoping to get it done in the next couple of months so that I have all my notes lined up and ready to send off in a manuscript.

 

Well…that is all for me, for now.  I hope life is treating everyone well.

 

See you soon!!!!!

