Yesterday brought about another “Brain Wrinkle” day, where I discovered the meaning of an axiom that is often used and not always very well explained.

Case in point:  You will get some authors that will tell you that when they write books, chapters, scenes, or paragraphs, that they normally write with an end in mind.  But what is hard to get one’s mind (more to the point my mind) wrapped around, is how an end is brought into the equation.

To me, when I start to think about putting the outline of a book together, I always start with ideas, in combination, that I want to pursue.  Then I think about POV(s), genre, age of reader, and then any new concepts I want to explore that will help stretch my abilities a bit farther.  Rarely, though, do I think about how the book will end.  In fact, I have a very hard time thinking about the end until I have written a few chapters, perhaps even the first half of the book.

Now, this creates some inevitable problems, all of which CAN be fixed with a bit of effort.  But I would like to think that as I progress in my skills as a writer, that I am able to catch a bit more of these problems and nip them in the bud, so that when I go to do my rewrite of my rough draft and turn it into my first working draft of the manuscript, that I won’t need to be so “in my head” as I’m writing it.  That I can just go through it with more instinct, rather than having to stop at every paragraph to make sure that I am getting the things included, that may have been missing or just needed to be changed as I came up with better and more ideas to push into the story.

This brings me to yesterday when I had an interesting moment that helped to bring all these things into perspective.  Sometimes, as the moment occurs, I either get strings of dialogue or narrative that jump into my head as I am writing a scene.  I write them down in a notebook that is dedicated for note taking and idea forming, for each book I write.  I am currently in the midst of slogging through about 10-15 thousand words that just have to be written, so I can get to the ending.  It’s not all slogging, but a good deal of it is. But I started to write down some dialogue, and that opened up another couple pages of note taking that made me have to go add some notes to my Master Sheet (I’ll explain this in a future post).  Of course this meant that I would have to go back and either change or add something to what I have already written, and that, in turn, creates a bit more for me to need to do in my first pass of rewriting.

The more of these “moments” that I have, I am convinced that my brain will eventually work out the processes needed to assemble a book in a more cohesive and easier way.  I know that the first pass at “Sand People” is going to take some time, and while I am looking forward to getting to that point, I also know that it is going to require a bit more work to get it done, because there are a decent number of additions and changes to the first 1/3 of the book that will require more of my brain to get it done.

I am also hoping that as I continue on, that I will have a better sense of the steps it takes to go from the beginning of a story to its conclusion, and how to structure it better.

 

Alrighty.  That is all for me, for now.

 

See you soon!!!!

