I have been thinking about how to push myself beyond my comfort level, in an effort to not be on the sidelines so much, in terms of my writing. So I did the thing that I would normally not do.

I put my writing out there to be professionally critiqued and evaluated.

Yep, I sure did.  I carefully went through a list of like 20-30 editors, scaled them down to 2, and sent emails to each of them, querying their interest, their methodology, and their availability.  I then didn’t think anything more of it for a week or so, and went through the emails that I received from each, and then decided on one and before I had a chance to think about it, I quickly got 50 pages of “Sand People” together into manuscript form, and sent them off before I could think twice about it and get too gun-shy and not do it.

So hopefully in the next couple of weeks, I should get the pages back and see where I need to go.

I am still working on the end of “Sand People” and decided (with a bit of impromptu inspiration) to work on exploring the protagonist for “A Knock at the Door”.  This all happened because a acquaintance of mine’s husband is a professional musician (stand-up bass) who collaborated with a young lady named Kelly Koval, and my friend posted a video of one of their songs.  I was immediately enthralled with the song, and it really set me in the mood to write for a bit and explore the main character a bit and write a few pages as part of an early scene in the story.  Mind you, I haven’t even outlined the book yet.

Here’s the video to the song.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

 

 

See you all soon!!!

